2010 Competition

2010 Winners

  • First Prize – Tomas Henriques, The Double Slide Controller, an electronic trombone-like instrument featuring two independent slides and two versatile hand controllers.
  • Second Prize – Keith, McMillen, the K-Bow, a wireless sensor-equipped bow
  • Third Prize – Kunal Gupta, Tristan Perich and Katie Shima, Loud Objects, performing live circuit constructions on an overhead projector
  • Third Prize – Steven Litt, The CrudBox, a robotic amplified step sequencer creating sophisticated rhythmic textures.


2010 Judges

  • Johannes Goebel, Founding Director of Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center (EMPAC) at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Tod Machover, Professor and Director of Hyperinstruments/Opera of the Future Group at the MIT Media Lab
  • Tom Sherwood, Principal Percussionist of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Gil Weinberg, Director, Georgia Tech Center for Music Technology